Not logged in. · Lost password · Register
Forum: General Help and Support Syntax and Usage RSS
How to skip typographic substitution
Avatar
rovf #1
Member since Jan 2015 · 2 posts
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
Subject: How to skip typographic substitution
A double hyphen is always replaced by a long typographical dash, when the text is displayed. How do I have enter the hyphens, when I want to see two distinct hyphens in the formatted text?
Avatar
turnermm (Moderator) #2
Member since Oct 2009 · 4646 posts · Location: Canada
Group memberships: Global Moderators, Members, Super Mods
Show profile · Link to this post
This substitution is defined in conf/entities.conf.  You can delete it there but that will affect all instances.
Myron Turner
github: https://github.com/turnermm
plugins, templates: http://www.mturner.org/devel
Avatar
rovf #3
Member since Jan 2015 · 2 posts
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
The problem is: In general I want to have the substitution, but sometimes I need the characters to apply literally (for instance, when describing program switches).

Isn't there a possibility to escape such characters, so that they will be printed literally? I don't mind if it is complicated to type.
Avatar
turnermm (Moderator) #4
Member since Oct 2009 · 4646 posts · Location: Canada
Group memberships: Global Moderators, Members, Super Mods
Show profile · Link to this post
use the escapes:
%%--%%
That will preserve the dashes.
Myron Turner
github: https://github.com/turnermm
plugins, templates: http://www.mturner.org/devel
Avatar
edgreenberg #5
Member since Apr 2017 · 2 posts
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
This worked once, but when the document was re-edited, the escape was lost.  I had %%--%% which was turned into  <nowiki>--</nowiki>.  When I opened the editor, the double dash was replaced with a single dash.  This is bug, and I'll go find a place to report it.
Avatar
turnermm (Moderator) #6
Member since Oct 2009 · 4646 posts · Location: Canada
Group memberships: Global Moderators, Members, Super Mods
Show profile · Link to this post
This looks like ckgedit?
Myron Turner
github: https://github.com/turnermm
plugins, templates: http://www.mturner.org/devel
Avatar
turnermm (Moderator) #7
Member since Oct 2009 · 4646 posts · Location: Canada
Group memberships: Global Moderators, Members, Super Mods
Show profile · Link to this post
In reply to post #5
Should be fixed.
Myron Turner
github: https://github.com/turnermm
plugins, templates: http://www.mturner.org/devel
Close Smaller – Larger + Reply to this post:
Verification code: VeriCode Please enter the word from the image into the text field below. (Type the letters only, lower case is okay.)
Smileys: :-) ;-) :-D :-p :blush: :cool: :rolleyes: :huh: :-/ <_< :-( :'( :#: :scared: 8-( :nuts: :-O
Special characters:
Go to forum
Imprint
This board is powered by the Unclassified NewsBoard software, 20150713-dev, © 2003-2015 by Yves Goergen
Current time: 2019-06-25, 22:11:24 (UTC +02:00)