Not logged in. · Lost password · Register
Forum: General Help and Support Installation and Configuration RSS
The datadir ('pages') at ./data/pages is not found, isn't accessible or writable.
wmorgan #1
Member since Sep 2017 · 3 posts
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
Subject: The datadir ('pages') at ./data/pages is not found, isn't accessible or writable.
First let me say that this is not an installation problem!

I've been running a docuwiki server for over 6 months from my home - I use it to store work-related notes. It has always worked fine - until this morning. While at work I had to edit a docuwiki page (something I do many times every day) - but when I clicked 'save' I got the error message mentioned in the title.

Nobody ever touches the server box (a Ubuntu server hidden in the spare room at home).

How can a working system suddenly stop working ?
wmorgan #2
Simply re-booting server fixed it! (but the search is broken)
This post was edited on 2017-09-28, 20:00 by wmorgan.
wmorgan #3
OK, fixed the broken search by manually running indexer.php

But I have now noticed that the edit toolbar is missing!!

That's it - I've had enough. I am giving up with dokuwiki. I need to have reliable access to my work notes. If a working wiki can break for no reason at all then it's no good to me. Dokuwiki might be good fun as a 'toy' wiki - but it's no good to someone like me who needs 24/7 access to their data - I need something I can rely on that won't suddenly break for no reason.
andi (Administrator) #4
User title: splitbrain
Member since May 2006 · 3471 posts · Location: Berlin Germany
Group memberships: Administrators, Members