Forum: General Help and Support Server Setup RSS
Migrating from Windows server 2012 r2 to Linux Turnkey Distro
Phychlone #1
Member since Apr 2018 · 2 posts
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
Subject: Migrating from Windows server 2012 r2 to Linux Turnkey Distro
Newbie post incoming.....
I've been using Dokuwiki for several months now for simple storage of helpdesk documentation.  I wanted to move the wiki from the Windows server to its own Linux VM.  Documentation suggested it would be a simple transfer of the Dokuwiki folder structure in it's entirety with the possibility of having to amend some security settings or base directory/url's to get it to function correctly.  Unfortunately this does not appear to be the case as the Linux distro appears to have a different structure which I cannot seem to fathom.  I am hoping that someone will be able to offer guidance on how best to approach this.

As mentioned I'm not vastly experienced with Dokuwiki but I am a fast learner who is keen to keep using it if possible without the need to recreate my entries.

Thanks in advance.
cziehr #2
Member since Jan 2011 · 466 posts · Location: 10119 Berlin
I assume that you installed DokuWiki in your Linux-Distro by using the package manager.

I would propose to install a webserver (Apache for example) and then put your wiki in the document folder. I don‘t know where this is located in Turnkey Linux, in Ubuntu it can be found under /var/www/html

This brings further positive effects; you are independent from package upgrades by Turnkey Linux.
Phychlone #3
Member since Apr 2018 · 2 posts