engineering coop
sammax1212 #1
User title: sammax1212
Member for 2 weeks · 12 posts
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
Subject: Improving the Dokuwiki at my new Summer Coop From Canada
Hey Everyone,
I just started a summer coop and my task is to optimize the dokuwiki; currently we are using an old version of dokuwiki (8 years old I think). The original idea was to switch to a mediawiki but I am proposing updating and using plugins to get better search results and to make the entire wiki more user friendly.
I am quite new to coding but I'm a quick learner. I'll definitely be asking lots of questions on here.. Nice to meet you all!

SM
turnermm (Moderator) #2
Member since Oct 2009 · 4112 posts · Location: Canada
Group memberships: Global Moderators, Members, Super Mods
To upgrade from an old distribution, see https://www.dokuwiki.org/install:upgrade#upgrading_an_old_…

A more direct method is simply to install the latest distribution and copy over your data/pages and your data/media.  You can then install the searchindex plugin to rebuild your index.  Using this method you will lose your history.  I'm not sure what changes have been made over the last 8 years to the meta files.  But you might find that you can also copy your data/meta over to the new wiki, in which case you will have also saved your history.
Myron Turner
github: https://github.com/turnermm
plugins, templates: http://www.mturner.org/devel
sammax1212 #3
Hey thanks for the reply, I have updated the wiki im now just looking for a decent search plugin i think im going with the Sphinx Search plug in, If anyone knows anything about it or has a better suggestion it would be much appreciated:)
grosse #4
Member since Nov 2014 · 4 posts · Location: Berlin, Germany
Group memberships: Members, Wiki Managers