Not logged in. · Lost password · Register
Forum: General Help and Support Development RSS
How does one trigger a page save action, on the click of a button
I want to have a simple 1// submit button, which when clicked 2// creates a 'example.txt' file, with the contents 'hello world'
abrar #1
Member for 3 months · 2 posts
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
Subject: How does one trigger a page save action, on the click of a button
Sorry folks if the answer to this question is straightforward, but I am unable, for the life of me, find anything out there on the internet that answers this question of mine.

i have been using dokuwiki for a few months now, mostly hacking my say around. To achieve what i want, which is:
on the click of a custom button made by me, create a new 'example.txt' page, and fill it up with the content: hello world.

I've been reading about events and action plugins, but they mostly seem to talk about 'doings some actions when a DOKUWIKI event is triggered', but no where can I find, how to create a custom button, or any other input, that triggers an existing dokuwiki event. I really need to have a button that triggers the 'page save' event, and creates the 'example.txt' file.

Please could someone help me out with this?

Apologies if this is a silly question.

Best,
Abrar
StarArmy #2
Member since Nov 2011 · 74 posts
Well, you could use the bureaucracy plugin to create new pages with one click. You would first create a form, and a template for the form fields to be used in...once those are set up, users can enter their information in a form and then click to create a new wiki page using the information they entered.

On my wiki, which is used for a roleplaying game, I have a form for creating a character. Users select options for their character and enter things like their character name, and when they click submit, the plugin creates a complete character page for them.
turnermm (Moderator) #3