Not logged in. · Lost password · Register
Forum: General Help and Support Features and Functionality RSS
Media Manager no longer works as it did
Avatar
rgleason #1
Member since Sep 2016 · 273 posts
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
Subject: Media Manager no longer works as it did
I have found that Media Manager no longer permits me to create a new sub - namespace in the url.
That field is locked out and not editable for some reason.
I used to be able to create a new namespace, then upload a file into the namespace (which acts as a placeholder to keep the new directory in place) and to insert that image into a page.  All through the media manager.
I can no longer do this.
I have also checked the namespaces with Move Manager and they all appear to be there, but I did not try to move anything yet, as I cannot create a new subnamespace for new media files.

Additionally my editors are finding that they do not have access to normal media manager folders as they used to.
I have checked all the permissions and they appear to be unchanged and correct.

One of the managers is trying to upload photos for his new version of an OpenCPN plugin and he is having difficulty. I quote his report below:

Hi Rick,
   The issue I am having is that the Media Manager and the 'Insert Image/Browse Server" locations are different. In the media manager the OD images are in:
[root]/opencpn/manual/plugins/odraw
but the insert image/browse server only lets me get to:
/opencpn/opencpn_user_manual/plugins/safety

I have already uploaded the new images to a subdirectory of odraw via the media manager, but I cannot get to this location by the browse server process. It would appear that the browse server is not seeing all of the directories available. The media manager does not even see the opencpn_user_manual directory.

Perhaps there is a permissions issue.

Regards
   Jon

Does anyone have some suggestions regarding this problem?
Has the way that Media Manager works been changed recently?

IPOF  The way Media Manager has worked in the past, with regard to creating new namespaces has always been byzantine and obscure, in my opinion, and I had hoped that it would have been improved. I have always had to handle these kinds oof tasks for my manager/editors as they do not use these tools regularly.  An improvement would be very welcome.
Avatar
turnermm (Moderator) #2
Member since Oct 2009 · 4711 posts · Location: Canada
Group memberships: Global Moderators, Members, Super Mods
Show profile · Link to this post
Judging from your terminology, I assume you are using ckgedit. There are two, really three, different issues here. But first, let's get our terms straight.  There is the Dokuwiki Media Manager and the ckgedit Filebrowser.

Issue 1/2
You cannot create directories using the dokuwiki Media Manager, but you can with the Filebrowser.  If you are not able to create a directory using the Filebrowser, then there is probably a permissions problem, but make sure you are using the latest version of ckgedit. If you create a directory using the Filebrowser, it will not show up in the Media Manager unless you also create a page in that directory.

Issue 3
the Media Manager and the 'Insert Image/Browse Server" locations are different
There must some kind of mis-configuration.  And there is not enough to go by for me to make a call on this.  What does "[root]" mean?  Is root "data/media"?  In the meantime, you have the option in ckgedit of using the Dokuwiki Media Manager and linkwiz by clicking on the "DW Filebrowser" button.  I would do that until and unless the mis-configuration is solved.
Myron Turner
github: https://github.com/turnermm
plugins, templates: http://www.mturner.org/devel
This post was edited on 2019-05-20, 17:10 by turnermm.
Avatar
turnermm (Moderator) #3
Member since Oct 2009 · 4711 posts · Location: Canada
Group memberships: Global Moderators, Members, Super Mods
Show profile · Link to this post
If you create a directory using the Filebrowser, it will not show up in the Media Manager unless you also create a page in that directory.

It turns out that this is not correct.  I just did a test and images in a folder created by the filebrowser do show up in the Media Manager.
Myron Turner
github: https://github.com/turnermm
plugins, templates: http://www.mturner.org/devel
Avatar
StarArmy #4
Member since Nov 2011 · 102 posts
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
If you open the media manager from the link (not the toolbar button) it will open as a normal webpage and you can alter the URL to make new namespaces that way.
Close Smaller – Larger + Reply to this post:
Verification code: VeriCode Please enter the word from the image into the text field below. (Type the letters only, lower case is okay.)
Smileys: :-) ;-) :-D :-p :blush: :cool: :rolleyes: :huh: :-/ <_< :-( :'( :#: :scared: 8-( :nuts: :-O
Special characters:
Go to forum
Imprint
This board is powered by the Unclassified NewsBoard software, 20150713-dev, © 2003-2015 by Yves Goergen
Current time: 2019-10-17, 10:57:51 (UTC +02:00)