Not logged in. · Lost password · Register
Forum: General Help and Support Features and Functionality RSS
Creating rss feed from one page
and one page only
Page:  1  2  3  next 
Avatar
mrhandley #1
Member since Jun 2008 · 3 posts
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
Subject: Creating rss feed from one page
Hi.

I´ve searched the forums and read the faq, but I´m fairly new to dokuwiki so please bear with me if this has been discussed/solved before.

I would like to create a rss feed from separate pages in my wiki. As it is now you get the full feed from the entire site (or changes) wich is interesting but not useful in this case.

Here is my rss feed: http://www.spinell.se/wiki/feed.php and the adress of the wiki installation is hence http://www.spinell.se/wiki

I would like to be able to set up separate rss feed for each page (with full page feed) so that, for example: http://www.spinell.se/wiki/doku.php/plugins can be sent to other wikis and blogs.

Is this dooable?
Avatar
grahack #2
Member since May 2007 · 166 posts · Location: Nantes, France
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
You can create feeds for namespaces, so you could isolate your page in one, it should work if you leave this page alone in its namespace.
Avatar
emilk #3
Member since Dec 2008 · 1 post
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
mrhandley> no, I think dokuwiki doesn't provide this functionality right now :(
grahack> eh, nice colaps of the whole namespace idea, would it be, not? obviously this is not an option :(
Avatar
kbf #4
Member since Nov 2008 · 7 posts · Location: Pennsylvania
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
In reply to post #1
Quote by mrhandley on 2008-06-18, 09:46:
I would like to create a rss feed from separate pages in my wiki. As it is now you get the full feed from the entire site (or changes) wich is interesting but not useful in this case.

Is this dooable?

Yeah. You can definitely do that. I did it just the other day.

@emilk: why isn't it an option. You can definitely have a namespace with just one page in it.
Avatar
tordans #5
Member since Dec 2008 · 1 post
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
In reply to post #1
Subject: Use Yahoo Pipes to filter your RSS-Feed
Hi! I was looking for an answer to the same problem. Since there seems to be no solution with dokuwiki I build my own:

Excample: http://pipes.yahoo.com/pipes/pipe.i…?_id=YNzilY3E3RG7h_O… filters the Changes-Feed for a String (eg cologne) so you only get pages that title "cologne - change-description".

You can copy/fork this feed to use it with our own Wiki.
You even could create an universall Filter-Feed for Dokuwikis by using a second input-string for the domain...

HTH
Avatar
V-12 #6
User title: http://www.riversedge.pl/
Member since Apr 2009 · 47 posts · Location: Poland
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
It's quite old topic but I would like to ask - is this possible to control RSS Feed output? I mean, currently all pages which I create/modyfy are sent to RSS Feed. I have one "work" page where I'm creating new stuff for a test. Yesterday I've realised that this page is also shown at RSS. Is this possible to controll which pages will be shown at RSS Feed? :)
Avatar
lupo49 (Moderator) #7
Member since Jul 2009 · 1399 posts · Location: Warstein, Germany
Group memberships: Global Moderators, Members, Super Mods
Show profile · Link to this post
I guess it's possible to prevent displaying some pages when you hook into http://www.dokuwiki.org/devel:event:feed_data_process

Edit: See http://www.dokuwiki.org/config:hidepages - if you add your page to the option it shouldn't be shown in the feed.
This post was edited on 2011-09-10, 00:39 by lupo49.
Avatar
turnermm (Moderator) #8
Member since Oct 2009 · 3725 posts · Location: Canada
Group memberships: Global Moderators, Members, Super Mods
Show profile · Link to this post
In reply to post #6
Look at the news plugin:
http://www.dokuwiki.org/plugin:news
Myron Turner
github: https://github.com/turnermm
plugins, templates: http://www.mturner.org/devel
Avatar
V-12 #9
User title: http://www.riversedge.pl/
Member since Apr 2009 · 47 posts · Location: Poland
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
Quote by turnermm on 2011-09-09, 22:24:
Look at the news plugin:
http://www.dokuwiki.org/plugin:news

This one is quite good. It looks that it copies just one page to RSS feed where tag ~~NEWSFEED~~ is located. Does it disable standard RSS feed of Dokuwiki?

After installation of this plugin I received error on top of the screen "Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at.....).

Quote by lupo49 on 2011-09-09, 21:08:
Edit: See http://www.dokuwiki.org/config:hidepages - if you add your page to the option it shouldn't be shown in the feed.

Looks promising. Should I add this option to conf/dokuwiki.php file?
Avatar
turnermm (Moderator) #10
Member since Oct 2009 · 3725 posts · Location: Canada
Group memberships: Global Moderators, Members, Super Mods
Show profile · Link to this post
This one is quite good. It looks that it copies just one page to RSS feed where tag ~~NEWSFEED~~ is located. Does it disable standard RSS feed of Dokuwiki?


It is separate from Dokuwiki's newsfeed

After installation of this plugin I received error on top of the screen "Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at.....).


I've been working on it and updating  it.  But have not seen this message.  It's not an uncommon error but to track it down, I'd have to  know which file it's coming from.  Could you describe when it occurs?   It sounds as though it occurs on start up.  Does it occur if you disable the news plugin?  Try downloading the current version.
Myron Turner
github: https://github.com/turnermm
plugins, templates: http://www.mturner.org/devel
Avatar
turnermm (Moderator) #11
Member since Oct 2009 · 3725 posts · Location: Canada
Group memberships: Global Moderators, Members, Super Mods
Show profile · Link to this post
I seem to have tracked down the problem by testing the plugin on a Mac OS X server.  You shouldn't see this message in the latest update from github.
Myron Turner
github: https://github.com/turnermm
plugins, templates: http://www.mturner.org/devel
Avatar
V-12 #12
User title: http://www.riversedge.pl/
Member since Apr 2009 · 47 posts · Location: Poland
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
In reply to post #10
Quote by turnermm on 2011-09-11, 16:03:
I've been working on it and updating  it.  But have not seen this message.  It's not an uncommon error but to track it down, I'd have to  know which file it's coming from.  Could you describe when it occurs?   It sounds as though it occurs on start up.  Does it occur if you disable the news plugin?  Try downloading the current version.


I've installed this plugin again and I have no error - good. Plugin works, but not in 100% :). First method works. second with:

~~NEWSFEED:<n>~~

Doesn't work. It generates blank, empty RSS: http://www.riversedge.pl/newsfeed.php

Maybe because I use other plugin for displaying text - Styler? I removed <style justify></style> tags from text, generated newsfeed again and it's empty.

I've tested it with headers level 1 and 4...
Avatar
turnermm (Moderator) #13
Member since Oct 2009 · 3725 posts · Location: Canada
Group memberships: Global Moderators, Members, Super Mods
Show profile · Link to this post
Not tested for conflicts with other plugins.  But header level refers to the number of equal signs which format the header, not to Dokuwiki's levels.  <NEWSFEED:3> is this:
 
=== header ===

See the plugin page on DW.  And see:

http://192.168.0.125/fckgLiteDev/newsfeed.php

This feed contains a combination of the two types of feeds.
Myron Turner
github: https://github.com/turnermm
plugins, templates: http://www.mturner.org/devel
Avatar
V-12 #14
User title: http://www.riversedge.pl/
Member since Apr 2009 · 47 posts · Location: Poland
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
Ok It works now. Thanx for your support!

Works with:

~~NEWSFEED:6~~

====== header ======

:)

I didn't removed <> so that was the reason why it wasn't working.

Will you support internal links in newsfeed?
Avatar
turnermm (Moderator) #15
Member since Oct 2009 · 3725 posts · Location: Canada
Group memberships: Global Moderators, Members, Super Mods
Show profile · Link to this post
As far as I know internal links work.  In my demo, in the item "Upgraded Image Dialog", there is an internal link to  features page.

I've tested with standard urls and both forms of nice urls.   Is there anything special about your setup?
Myron Turner
github: https://github.com/turnermm
plugins, templates: http://www.mturner.org/devel
Close Smaller – Larger + Reply to this post:
Verification code: VeriCode Please enter the word from the image into the text field below. (Type the letters only, lower case is okay.)
Smileys: :-) ;-) :-D :-p :blush: :cool: :rolleyes: :huh: :-/ <_< :-( :'( :#: :scared: 8-( :nuts: :-O
Special characters:
Page:  1  2  3  next 
Go to forum
Imprint
This board is powered by the Unclassified NewsBoard software, 20150713-dev, © 2003-2015 by Yves Goergen
Current time: 2017-06-25, 17:47:22 (UTC +02:00)