Not logged in. · Lost password · Register
Forum: General Help and Support Server Setup RSS
Trying to set up for the first time, but...
Need for a good user document?
pblair #1
Member since Sep 2006 · 4 posts
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
Subject: Trying to set up for the first time, but...
I'm rather new to this PHP stuff, but have a need to be able to write/edit/polish Wiki material at home. So I downloaded DokuWiki.

I have a spare drive set up with IIS/PHP (5) and MySQL. I extracted all the download files to inetpub/docuwiki, set all permissions (well, only I can get to this stuff!) and tried to figure out what to do next. I created a user (probably got that wrong) and fired up. I get to the login screen, but no go.

The line I put into users.auth.php looks like:
pblair,catch22,Paul,pblair@xxxx.org.au,1

but that doesn't work. And what else do I need to set up/adjust modify?

As a comment - with all the Wiki power at competent users fingertips, I would really appreciate a basic list of what a new user should do.

Paul (a newbie at all this!)
Australia
pblair #2
Subject: Never mind...
I gave up on this item....

Paul
lornajane #3
Member since Jul 2006 · 14 posts
Paul

I didn't see your message before, just in case you come back to it, or anyone else reads it and wants to try, I think what you need to do here is encode your password using an md5 hash, and note that the separator is a colon.  The line in the users auth file should look like this (that long thing is a md5-ed version of the word "dokuwiki"):

lorna:18c179f84e1e69aa6a4ff775ac0a2b0f:Lorna:lorna@example.com:users

Hope this helps someone.
LornaJane ( www.lornajane.net )
pblair #4
Subject: Trying to set up for the first time, but...
Thanks for the reply. I saw the md5 thing, had no idea what they were talking about! So I gave up, got a copy of MediaWiki which was a dream to set up, does the job quite well. First impressions count....

Paul
lornajane #5