Not logged in. · Lost password · Register
Forum: General Help and Support General Stuff RSS
Edit toolbar problem (it vanished!)
Page:  1  2  next 
Avatar
johanp #1
Member since Oct 2006 · 2 posts · Location: Sweden
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
Subject: Edit toolbar problem (it vanished!)
Hello!

I installed Dokuwiki a few days ago (RC3) and I'm very happy with it so far. However, today something weird happened.
The edit toolbar (with the H1, H2.. etc buttons) has suddenly disappeared! Instead there is a text link saying "Media Files" and nothing else.

I can of course still edit, but the toolbar is quite handy and I'm missing it a lot.

Oh, this happens in Firefox 1.5. I opened my wiki in MSIE and could see the toolbar. But why is it missing in FireFox? I've emptied my cache with no visible effect on the toolbar.

I'm grateful for any ideas. Thank you in advance.

Johan Peitz
Avatar
andi (Administrator) #2
User title: splitbrain
Member since May 2006 · 3503 posts · Location: Berlin Germany
Group memberships: Administrators, Members
Show profile · Link to this post
Press shift reload tomake sure your browser doesn't have an invalid cache. If the problem remains check the JavaScript console for errors.
Read this if you don't get any useful answers.
Lies dies wenn du keine hilfreichen Antworten bekommst.
Avatar
johanp #3
Member since Oct 2006 · 2 posts · Location: Sweden
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
Hmm... That actually solved it. Allthough not right away. I hard reloaded multiple times with no luck. Then I simply did not use the browser for a while and now it's back. Weirdness.

Thanks for the help!
Avatar
gfroese #4
Member since Oct 2006 · 2 posts
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
Is there a real solution to this?
I'm also experiencing it in both IE and FF.
Avatar
Khev #5
User title: OsFree Web Designer
Member since Nov 2006 · 2 posts · Location: 127.0.01
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
I am also experiencing this problem in Opera 9, Firefox 2, and IE 6. Clearing the cache did nothing - there is no evidence of the Javascript even being there in the source.
Avatar
andi (Administrator) #6
User title: splitbrain
Member since May 2006 · 3503 posts · Location: Berlin Germany
Group memberships: Administrators, Members
Show profile · Link to this post
I just talked to a guy on the IRC about this problem and discovered, that he upgraded from an older release without updating the conf/dokuwiki.php file. This caused a config variable to be unset which broke the JavaScript. So make sure your conf/dokuwiki.php is up to date (all your local changes belong to conf/local.php).
Read this if you don't get any useful answers.
Lies dies wenn du keine hilfreichen Antworten bekommst.
Avatar
gfroese #7
Member since Oct 2006 · 2 posts
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
as Andi said, problem is solved.
Score another point for open source and online collaboration.
Avatar
Khev #8
User title: OsFree Web Designer
Member since Nov 2006 · 2 posts · Location: 127.0.01
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
Thanks!
Avatar
oso #9
Member since Nov 2006 · 2 posts
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
Subject: toolbar problem again
Hello,

I am experiencing a strange problem with the toolbar. same symtoms as described in the initial posting, but the solutions provided here do not work for me.
to be more precise: the toolbar does show up in one installation, but it doesn't on another (on another machine)
what I did was a pure standard installation, nothing special:
1. download & extract in the DocumentRoot of the server (... ./htdocs/dokuwiki/...)
2. chown -R apache dokuwiki
3. run the install.php script, enter a name and save.
now on one webserver everything runs without errors and the toolbar shows up; on another webserver everything runs without errors as well but no toolbar shows up.  instead, there is just the media files link visible.
what I tried:
- cleared the browse cache
- did a shift-reload (firefox)
- used the internet explorer
- disabled the cache in firefox using the web developer toolbar
.. but no toolbar appears.

the system having these problems is a fedora core 4 with php 5.0.4 - anything wrong with that?

it's weird: everything works, just the toolbar isn't there.
please, if you have any tips/ideas, I would be glad...

yours, Oliver
Avatar
winfrei #10
Member since Oct 2006 · 3 posts
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
Subject: Edit toolbar problem
The same problem with me.

The edit toolbar shows up on a web server (Apache 2.0.54 and PHP 5.1.5) and is not there in a local installation (Apache 2.2.3 and PHP 5.2.0-3). The new dokuwiki.php is installed in both cases.

When I click on the edit button the "error console" shows this:
Error: missing ; before statement
Source File: http://localhost/dokuwiki/lib/exe/js.php?edit=1&write=1
Line: 1, Column: 160
Source Code:
var DOKU_BASE='/dokuwiki/';var alertText='Bitte geben sie den zu formatierenden Text ein.\nDieser wird am Ende des Dokuments eingefügt.';;var notSavedYet=Nicht gespeicherte Änderungen gehen verloren!\nWeitermachen?';v;var reallyDel=intrag wirklich löschen
Avatar
oso #11
Member since Nov 2006 · 2 posts
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
I could not find any other information about this problem.
I tried to track down the differences of the two platforms (where the one works and the other not) and was very surprised to find out that there are no big differences at all. both systems are:

fedora core 4 with installed packages:
  * php-5.0.4-10.5
  * httpd-2.0.54-10.4
  * php-pear-5.0.4-10.5

I also noticed the same javascript error ("Error: missing ; before statement ....."). It might be that the javascript code is being garbled because of encoding problems. But I can't say much more ...the infamous line 1 is very long: in my texteditor it wraps over more than 3 pages and is very difficult to read :(
Also, I set the language to 'en' and cleared the dokuwiki cache in dokuwiki/data/cache to force the creation of new renderings. durings these tests, the cache of my firefox browser was _disabled_ (firefox web developer toolbar, "disable cache"). but the results were the same, script error on line 1, toolbar does not work etc.
this is really annoying. the customer now asked me to install dokuwiki on a windows machine as the problem is not solvable right now.

cheers,
oliver
Avatar
gamut #12
Member since Jan 2008 · 1 post
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
I had this problem with my page; though I made a template to match the rest of my site.  I traced it back to my inclusion of "mootools" in the header -- apparently there's a conflict in the js.  So I suggest turning on the js error console, or looking for conflicting code.
chi #13
Member since Jun 2006 · 1851 posts · Location: Munich Germany
Group memberships: Members, Super Mods, Wiki Managers
Show profile · Link to this post
Hi :),

did you have any particular reason to awake a thread where the last post was made on 2006-11-28 ;-)?
Please add [SOLVED] to the initial thread subject if you feel your question has been answered.
If my answer doesn't make sense maybe your question didn't either - just visit http://facepalm.org.
Avatar
exiang #14
Member since Oct 2008 · 1 post
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
Subject: my solution
I faced the same problem as well with the latest release of 2008-05-05
I tried all the method mentioned above such as refreshing browser cache and even reinstall a clean copy but still failed.
Thru firefox console, i found that there is a error message of "missing;"
I open the generated js file and found that the problem appears at function sack
Seems that the " and ; is missing in the compression process.
I tried to set $conf['compress'] to 0 then found the problem solved; at least, temporary.

I am sure something goes wrong during the compress process because I have checked the function sack(file) in tw-sack.js and found no error.

Hope this info helps.
Avatar
Min Yang #15
Member since Jan 2009 · 1 post · Location: USA
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
Subject: I finally did it!!! lol~
Wow,, I had the identical problem as above and finally succeeded debugging.  :-D
After I reloaded a write page with editing toolbar disappeared I tracked down the cause of the problem with the help of FireFox's error information (hotkey: Ctrl + Shift + J -> This is amazing!!!)
In my case the cause was the lightbox plugin which seems to be incompatible with the most recent release of dokuwiki (2008-05-05 version). Thus I removed lightbox plugin manually, reloaded the writing page, and editing toolbar came up again!!!

Hope this would be helpful to someone who losts their editing tool bar. :)
Close Smaller – Larger + Reply to this post:
Verification code: VeriCode Please enter the word from the image into the text field below. (Type the letters only, lower case is okay.)
Smileys: :-) ;-) :-D :-p :blush: :cool: :rolleyes: :huh: :-/ <_< :-( :'( :#: :scared: 8-( :nuts: :-O
Special characters:
Page:  1  2  next 
Go to forum
Imprint
This board is powered by the Unclassified NewsBoard software, 20150713-dev, © 2003-2015 by Yves Goergen
Current time: 2019-12-14, 08:36:07 (UTC +01:00)