Edits very slow
Editting pages takes an inorinaetly long time to complete
symcbean #1
Member since Apr 2009 · 1 post
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
Subject: Edits very slow
Hi all,

(I'm a newbie here, so apologies if I'm teaching you all to suck eggs, but I didn't find this problem documented here).

In the past few months I've developed a couple of small applications using DokuWiki (in one case integrating with Nagios, one with a proprietary information system). I love the flexibility and modularity of it.

Unfortunately one of these applications (they run on different servers) was taking a very long time to save changes, 30 - 45 seconds at a time. I have now fixed it, and given the amount of bad information availalbe on the internet regarding the problem, I thought I'd share what I found in my case (YMMV!).

I isolated the slow bit as a call to the php mail() function.  And sure enough, building a test rig for this confirmed it was the problem.

Looking at Google, I could see this was occurring for lots of people but most of the solutions were to switch to a different MTA - the other proposed solutions I read about had no impact.

By investigating the issue further, I found that the cause was:
1) my sendmail configuration used a smart relay host (DS in sendmail.cf)
2) the first nameserver configured for my server was defunct

Not an obvious cause since
- I would have expected the local sendmail to enqueue mails regardless of the state of the relay
- indeed, using 'mail'/'mailx' command from the shell was nearly instantaeneous, this proves not to be the case for sendmail -t -i.
- I was not seeing DNS problems elsewhere

HTH

C.
bt #2
Member since Jul 2009 · 2 posts
Hi,

I'm having the same problem. I am using ssmtp as a mailserver. I have checked that the smtp host in the config is correct, and it still takes 20-30 seconds to save a page. Page read is as snappy as ever.