Not logged in. · Lost password · Register
Forum: General Help and Support Syntax and Usage RSS
bulk import
dglp #1
Member since Feb 2012 · 7 posts
Group memberships: Members
Show profile · Link to this post
Subject: bulk import
I'm just getting started with DokuWiki, and am unclear about how to create pages from existing documents, such as the folder full of .txt files I have on my hard drive. Do I need to create a wiki elsewhere and importfrom that format? Do I use the media manager to upload a bunch of files? Do I create an SQL query?

I've read a few pages of documentation - how to create pages, that sort of thing - but don't see anything about bringing in existing data and tree structures.

Can you give me a pointer to the info I need?

tx
HansBKK #2
Member since Nov 2011 · 104 posts · Location: Bangkok
It's easiest if you have direct access to the DW's filesystem, and I suggest keeping this under version control when you're mucking around there directly as much as I do.

Create a couple of test pages and name spaces and you'll see where DW puts them. Just put your txt files in the same place with appropriate file and folder names, and when you navigate to them the first time DW will create indexing metafiles so the next time will be faster. You can use a spidering tool as well, or use the rebuild index command.

Sorry I don't have access at the moment to give you more details, hope this gets you started.
dglp #3
That sounds good!

At the moment, the few pages I've created are in /public_html/dokuwiki/data/pages, so it sounds like I can upload files there.

Whilst the page-by-page navigation sounds a bit piecemeal, it will work as I update a given page.

I haven't come acorss the rebuild index command - is ther a description about?

will report how I get on once I've tried it!

tx
HansBKK #4